A Guy Walks Into a Bar: Happy New Beer!!!

20 Jan

New Year, New Beer!

BY:  guest-blogger Brian (part-time beer afficionado/full-time drinking partner) 

I know this post is like a month late but I’ve been busy drinking, gambling, and playing in the snow.  Forgive me.  
Anyways, for an avid beer drinker such as myself, champagne is somewhat of a foreign topic to me.  Generally, when  I shop for champagne I just  just buy whatever bottle (in my price range) looks the classiest.  We’re just going to be toasting with it one time anyways, so what does it matter?  

Well apparently the marketing wizards at Sam Adams had me in mind with their latest blend; Infinium.

Sam Adams Infinium is a unique blend of champagne and beer.  They describe it as “A groundbreaking brew, made with only the four traditional ingredients: malted barley, hops, water and yeast.  Infinium is a crisp champagne-like beer with fine bubbles and a fruity, spicy aroma. The crisp clean malt character and delicate fruit notes in this beer are complemented by a slight citrus flavor from dry hopping with Bavarian Noble hops. Bottle conditioning adds another layer of complexity and light spice notes.”

 

Like I said, marketing WIZARDS!  So me and my “panel of experts” decided to give this new brew a shot.  The general consensus of my 3-person tasting panel was that it was pretty good.  Ironically, I happpened to be the lone drinker who did not agree with this sentiment so here’s my take on Infinium.

Pros:  Lots of flavor    

Cons: Too carbonated, not much different than your average Sam Adams brew, dry hoppiness (I swear that’s a word)

TO BUY OR NOT TO BUY?:  Personally, I won’t be running out to buy Infinium anytime soon.  However, if you know you’ve got a fellow bro’s birthdays coming up, you might want to check it out.  

Leave a Reply

