GET ICED

13 Oct

 

An early birthday surprise!?  For me!?  I could hardly contain myself, I L-O-V-E surprises and the possibilities on this mysterious flower delivery were endless….

I narrowed it down to the three most obvious senders:

1. an ex-boyfriend begging for my love

2. a potential future boyfriend begging for my love

3. a hot celebrity (most likely Channing Tatum) begging for my love

WRONG, wrong, and wrongThe beautiful flowers turned out to be a gift from two of my favorite people in the entire world–Nammy and Poppy.  I would say they are grandparents to me, but a) they are not blood related to me at all and b) they have more youthfulness and energy than almost anyone I know. 

 

 

 
Beautiful fall roses just for me!
 

 

 

 So what the hell does this precious story have to do with my drinking blog?

Ok so not that much, but one thing I learned from living with Nammy this summer was to enjoy everything in moderation…even wine

”I’ll have a glass of white wine and a glass of ice”–Nammy’s signature drink order

It might sound taboo to add ice to wine, but her advice works.  Keeping your wine in a glass filled with ice makes your drink last twice as long as it would otherwise, saving you calories in the long run.  Instead of drinking 2-3 glasses of wine at dinner, you can enjoy your meal and dinner company while sipping on only seemingly never-ending glass of wine. 

 
 

One 5-oz glass of Pinot Grigio has only 110 calories!

And trust me, her theory works.  Nammy, 71 years old, looks like a modern Marilyn Monroe and could easily pass for being 20 years younger.  I swear she gets hit on EVERYWHERE we go(am i bitter? yes a little)!   

 

Proof you can stay gorgeous without giving up your fav vino!

One Response to “GET ICED”

  1. Kristin Kolat October 13, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    bahahahaha my favorite post yet since you not how pinot grigio obsessed I am. Nammy is a cougar! I was thinking those flowers were a gift from Phil (Hot Putnam Phil that is) haha

Leave a Reply

