Boxed wine; so much class, so few calories.

22 Sep

Like clockwork, it’s one month into the first semester of college and I’m officially broke.  Not that I have outrageously expensive taste when it comes to alcohol, but I typically enjoy a couple $10-15 bottles of Riesling for a weekend of drinking.  I know that sounds really affordable and in truth it is.  But not for someone, like myself ,who is a)job-less and b) a compulsive spender.  So until my bank account starts rising, I am stuck buying whatever gives me the most bang for my buck (that saying just sounds painful)….and everyone knows what that means–Franzia.

 Along with the many other reasons to love Franzia, it is surprisingly a very healthy drink if you know the right kind of flavors to choose.  YUP, you read that correctly…NOT ALL FRANZIA IS CREATED EQUAL.

Here’s a short nutritional “Tour de Franzia” so-to- speak:     

(Per 5 ounce serving)

Best White: Refreshing White 90 calories, 3 grams sugar

Best Red: Chianti 95 calories, 2 grams sugar

Worst White: Rhine 110 calories, 5 grams sugar

Worst Red: Shiraz, 110 calories, 10 grams sugar

Overall, all of the Franzia varities are generally low-calorie when drunk in moderation.  Let me reiterate, the nutrition facts are for a 5 ounce glass of wine–not for an entire game of slap the bag or or a wine goblet bigger than your head, as shown in the video.  

One Response to “Boxed wine; so much class, so few calories.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Drinkers' De-LIGHT - September 23, 2010

    […] especially since I promised myself I would start cutting back on my alcohol costs (ughh refer to my last post )but it sounds like the perfect low-cal drink for a special occassion!!  In fact, it would […]

Leave a Reply

