BUSTED!

16 Sep

The suspect: Shipyard Brewery Pumpkinhead Ale

A change in seasons equals a change in beer and this year’s selection of fall brews have already made their debut in liquor store nationwide.  Not an avid beer drinker myself, I was shocked to discover this new beer that I absolutely loved–Shipyard Pumpkinhead Ale.  It has an amazingly subtle pumpkin and nutmeg flavor and it never left me with that full, sick to my stomach feeling I experience from most beers.

Sounds too good to be true, huh?  My thoughts exactly…and thats what started my investigation to discover the hidden truth about my new beer obsession.  Brace yourself, the truth hurts.

The verdict: One serving of Shipyard Pumpkinhead Ale has 185 calories.  It doesn’t sound that bad at first glance, but consider it in the long run….The average person would probably drink at least 3 of these while watching a football game.  That alone is over 500 calories, not even taking into account the inevitable halftime snacks and other possible beverages.  This seemingly innocent beer can quickly turn into a caloric nightmare!   

One Response to “BUSTED!”

  1. Rick Hancock September 16, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Good start! You can never have enough links. Is it against the law to drink and blog?

Leave a Reply

