Have your cake and drink it too!

13 Sep

No birthday is complete without cake.  Sometimes, I think it is half the reason people celebrate birthdays in the first place.  Likewise, no 21st birthday is complete without drinks…drinks…and MORE drinks.  Now don’t get me wrong, cake and alcohol are great, but both are high in calories and have almost no nutritional value.  So how do you decide which of the birthday evils to partake in–the staple birthday cake or the 21st birthday cocktails?  If you are like me, you agree this stressful decision-making takes ALL the fun out of celebrating (and isn’t that the point?).

And that’s when I came up with the genius idea to combine alcohol and birthday cake into one delicious drink concotion that I like to call the “Birthday-tini”.

I swear it tastes as good as it looks!

Birthday-Tini Recipe

Ingredients

1 part amaretto

1 part Pinnacle whipped cream flavored vodka

1/2 part Trop50 pineapple juice

Sprinkles (optional)

Directions

Pour all liquids into a shaker with ice and shake vigorously.

Serve in martini glass rimmed with birthday sprinkles!

Gabi, the birthday girl!

The result=liquid birthday happiness! It tasted just like birthday cake, but was actually a pretty low-calorie drink alternative.  The birthday girl ended up loving her drink and my roommates were impressed!  I liked the drink so much I might have to start following the advice of my man 50 cent and “party like it’s my birthday” every weekend!

Leave a Reply

