Tell ‘em Why You’re Mad

6 Oct

Warning: I am not a happy camper.  I just dug up some disturbing news and now I need to vent.  Dont worry, I don’t deal with my anger like Britney.

Relax Britney.

Instead, I have decided to narrate this post like a caller on “Tell ‘em Why You’re Mad“.  If you have not heard of this,  you’re missing out.  “Tell ‘em Why You’re Mad” is a popular radio segment on Hartford radio station, Hot 93.7, where pissed-off listeners call in to rant about their problems.  And because I only appreciate the finer things in life, listening to it happens to be one of my top 3 favorite pastimes.  Here’s just a short piece of this radio gold….

Tell em why you’re mad 7/20/2010 by sbousquetbousquet

 Ready to hear why I’m mad?  I’m mad because I recently went to Margaritas Mexican Restaurant in East Hartford, CT with friends for lunch and drinks.  I ended up ordering the Lime in the Coconut Margarita, on the rocks.  It was absolutely delicious and I had my margarita glass empty before I had even signed the credit card slip.

Just enjoying an innocent margarita!

The story goes downhill fast from here…Today, out of sheer curiousity, I decided to look up calories in this heavenly drink only to find that Margaritas does not provide any nutritional information for their drinks.  I should have ended my search here but being the curious little journalist I am, I insisted getting to the bottom of this.

What I discovered was terrifying….

 

 One Lime in the Coconut margarita has 588 calories!!!

I did consider that the nutrition facts were based on a site using user-submitted comments, but I can’t help but believe this is probably an accurate calculation.  According to an article on Forbes.com, margaritas can have over 700 calories and are one of the top 10 most fattening drinks. 

And if it wasn’t bad enough, here are some sobering facts about how to burn off the 588 calories in this evil drink:

Talk about a buzzkill…….

3 Responses to “Tell ‘em Why You’re Mad”

  1. Rick Hancock October 7, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    That makes me mad!

  2. Kristin Kolat October 7, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    hahahaha thanksssss asshole I had a strawberry margarita that day! Maybe 1630 could use the 3 1/2 hours of sweeping though to burn it off?
    Good thing you burned some calories belly dancing at sports bar : )

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “Love life and life will love you back”–Arthur Rubinstein « Drinkers' De-LIGHT - November 8, 2010

    [...] Any cooking is a feat for me (I attempt to cook instant oatmeal every day for breakfast, but I am usually only successful about 3 times per week) but no lie, this meal was AMAZING.  I think the recipe called it ”a mix between raking leaves and sipping a margarita” and that describes it perfectly.  Luckily, it has nowhere near as many calories as the evil margaritas from one of my previous posts.  [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

